Skip to content

Chewing Gum 1 in 10 chance to win ??5

November 19, 2011
Gum_win_5

Seems pretty straightforward. The gum cost 38p for a packet so if I buy 10 packs, I’ll probably win a fiver, effectively getting all the gum for free plus a bonus ??1.20.
Aside from the fact that I can’t stand chewing gum, this is still pretty much a near certain ??1.20 for doing nothing right?
Cue class discussion:
A) I’m bound to win if I buy 10 packs, right?
B) What’s the chance of me winning ??50 from my ten packs? I could be really lucky, right?
C) What’s the chance of me not winning anything at all?
D) (A level) How can we model this with a binomial distribution and what’s the chance of me winning exactly once?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

