Skip to content

Great question, shame about the centipede

March 13, 2013

Here’s a cool Maths question from a children’s book called The Rhyming Rabbit:

20130313-202611.jpg

However, it’s a shame the centipede’s response is:

20130313-202730.jpg

In the context of the story, most of the characters are unimpressed with the poor rabbit’s rhyming but did it have to be done in such a way to perpetuate the it’s ok to say I hate Maths?

Or am I being over sensitive?
What do you think?

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. I agree. It’s a great question. The answer will help instil anti maths feeling in youngsters when it could instil a love of maths instead. I’ve lost all respect for centipedes….

  2. I do get annoyed with how it’s seen as socially acceptable to say that you hate maths, or that you can’t do maths. I don’t know many people who would willingly say that they couldn’t read!

    I seem to spend a lot of my time with my KS3 students trying to convince them that maths isn’t horrible, that they can do it and that just because a certain Z-list celebrity can’t do maths doesn’t mean that they don’t have to either.

    Lovely question though.

Leave a Reply

