Skip to content

Ox Blocks game

January 19, 2014

I was at a carboot sale this morning and was very pleased to spot a game called Ox Blocks. I’d seen this before in a charity shop but didn’t buy it. I’m not sure why I didn’t buy it but I’ve regretted that decision. At the Mathsjam conference in November, Peter Rowlett had a copy of the game too so I knew I’d made a foolish mistake in not buying it.
Anyway, I now have a copy.

20140119-160136.jpg
It’s basically noughts and crosses but with a twist. As usual one player is noughts and the other is crosses and you take turns having goes. On your turn you roll one of the dice and if it’s your piece you place on the board. If it’s not your piece you still place it on the board and if it’s a blank space you remove a piece from board.

Simple yet fun.

If you’re a maths teacher there are probably some blank dice lying around somewhere.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

