Skip to content

Year 11s need to know…..

October 12, 2014

It’s starting to get to that time of year where mock GCSE exams are looming and the pressure is mounting.

I wanted to have a routine for my year 11 class where they simply get used to some specific topics. To that end, I’ve gone through the scheme of work and pulled out the things I think they ought to be able to do without thinking about it. They’re the kind of topics that every time they come up, you just think, “I’m sure we’ve done this before but you’re acting like I’m talking alien.” Things like adding fractions, multiplying two negatives, how many cm are in a m? etc

Here are my lists:

Slide2 Slide3 Slide4 Slide5

The last picture is a the first of many slides that I plan to use as starters. I want them to see these regularly. Every lesson. I want them to be thoroughly drilled (yes, drilled) in these things. I want the students to see 4(x – 2) and automatically say “4x minus 8”.

Here’s where I’d like a little help. Is the list too ambitious? For this specific purpose, should I trim it. If so, which things? Also, is there something I’ve missed?

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Reblogged this on ryanjhay79.

Leave a Reply

