Skip to content

Instagram maths – Core Maths revision

February 5, 2023

Recently, my students have been talking about Snapchat and their snap scores. Snap score is a unique metric in Snapchat that measures a user’s activity and popularity on the platform. It’s a numerical representation of someone’s engagement on the app and is displayed for them on their profile. The score is updated frequently and is it possible to see the Snap Scores of your friends. Snap Score is calculated based on the number of snaps sent and received, stories posted and other factors such as adding friends and using filters. The exact calculation method is unknown and deliberately kept secret by Snapchat, but it’s clear that the more a user interacts with the app, the higher their Snap Score will be.

In my class, the scores range from 8000 to over 1 million. I really wanted to make a resource based on this but, sadly, couldn’t find enough useful information. I can find a list of the users that have the highest Snap Scores but very little else of use.

With that, I turned to another major social media site for year 12s – Instagram. For this site, I was able to find the top users (by number of followers) and also some other interesting data. I’ve put it together into a revision page that covers:

  • Critical analysis
  • Correlation
  • Regression

Here there are, complete with an answer page:

Hopefully it’ll be of use to you. If you can find out any more about Snap Scores, I’d be interested in hearing about it.


I know I’ve been a bit quiet on this blog recently. That’s mostly because I’ve been focussing my energy into the approximately-fortnightly newsletter I’ve been writing. If you want to check that out, please do click on this link and then confirm it in your email.

From → Core Maths, Level 3

3 Comments
  1. Love it Dave – I’ll be sending teachers this way when referring to critical analysis. How did your students respond to this activity?

    • It went down well. Nice discussions about how they are only estimated payment values and also just how much money it is!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Preliminary Material 2023 – AQA | reflectivemaths's Blog

Leave a comment